My Role Model? Not Your Typical Role Model

We all have our idols, our role models, people who we constantly look up to. It’s them who we look to for guidance, and in some ways, we strive to be them, that someday we’ll match their freaking awesomeness. My Mom and Dad are my main heroes, obviously, but there’s one, or actually a set of people who I spend at least 30 minutes a day watching (on Youtube, so no, I’m not a creep), and even more time reading up about on Reddit.

They have a Youtube channel called the GameGrumps, and it’s basically a get-together of friends who play and commentate video games and tell jokes. They’d pretty much talk about anything, and everything: life stories, philosophical conversations. Most of the time, though, they just tell jokes about dicks, poop and butts–I embrace my humor (of a 7 year old).

Whenever I feel down, or if I’m just having a bad day, I know that an episode of GameGrumps would make my day better–just 10 minutes a day of them really cheers me up.

So yeah, I’ve been watching their videos for the past 2 years? Around that. It may seem strange, but they’ve actually helped me grow quite a bit as a person. It was subconscious, and I didn’t really realize I was doing it till way later but I started mimicking how one of them talks (Danny, for those of you who don’t know GameGrumps). It’s called observational behavior: essentially it’s where you mimic someone’s pattern of speech because you think it’s socially optimal. Cuz of them, I’ve learned how to communicate better, and actually talk in a way that most people find…well, pleasant. And most of the things I say are jokes–I must’ve gotten that from them, too.

Yup, that’s Danny. Doing something weird again. Don’t judge.

Having a role model can be one of the most inspiring things in the world, but only if it’s a proper role model–someone who teaches and motivates you to do the right things.You’d be surprised as to what you can learn, and without even knowing, change (for the better, hopefully).

Leave a comment