Confidence: Hater’s gon hate

I don’t know if it was just the past few days or what, but lately I’ve been feeling a lot more confident,. Or at least way more than before. I honestly don’t know what did it for me–perhaps it was the combination of inspirational blog posts, motivational Youtube videos and 38 pep-talks a day? What Anna Akana said is true: false confidence, and tricking yourself into being confident eventually works. Sooner or later, you’ll believe it, and it’ll show.

I think my inner-confidence is getting a lot better. I actually pushed myself to actually talk to some strangers, and for the most part, it goes pretty well. I met 2 pretty awesome people in stats today, and at the end of class, friended them on Facebook–now we’re officially friends. Just kidding. It’s more of an official, mutual agreement between two people that they’ve reached some level of “friendship”, but I digress. For once, I was…myself. It was as if everyone outside of our group suddenly disappeared. I wish I could do this at will, just block out the world around me. That way, I could easier talk to whoever I’m talking to, and not have to give two beans about people eavesdropping (and subsequently judging).

I’m walking around campus with a bit more confidence, not really caring what people think. The thing is, I gotta live my life to the fullest–it’s short, after all. That means NOT caring if people judge you, and NOT having to always seek out their approval. No matter how normal I try to be, or how anonymous I can make myself in public, people will always–and this is a guarantee–judge you. So what’s the point? Why try to change something that can’t be changed?

My progress doesn’t stop here–I’ll definitely keep building my confidence, and speak my mind whenever I want to. Haters gon’ hate!

Leave a comment